Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Global Institute of Internal AuditorsBreadcrumb SeparatorCertificationBreadcrumb SeparatorCRMA CertificationBreadcrumb SeparatorEligibility Requirements

Certification in Risk Management Assurance® (CRMA®) Eligibility Requirements


CRMA candidates must have an active Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) designation prior to being approved into the CRMA program. If you have any questions, submit a case via your profile in the Certification Candidate Management System (CCMS).

​Prerequisite ​Active CIA Designation
CRMA Exam Pass CRMA exam
Work Experience* 5 years of internal audit and/or risk management experience
Annual CPE 20 hours

*Work experience is an “exit” requirement for the CRMA program. Candidates with less experience may apply for the CRMA program and sit for the exam. However, to obtain the designation, the experience requirement must be met before the two-year program window expires.

Eligibility Period

The CRMA program window is two years, meaning that candidates have two years from the date they are accepted into the program to complete the program requirements (i.e., pass the exam and provide evidence that they have obtained five years of internal audit and/or risk management experience).

If you applied to the original CRMA program (before 31 March 2021), your program window expires on the expiration date you were originally given or 22 December 2022, whichever occurs first. Please refer to the “CRMA Program: Why and How It’s Changing” handbook for more information about how the recent CRMA program update may affect you.

Candidates in the CRMA program agree to accept the conditions of the program, including eligibility requirements, exam confidentiality, Code of Ethics, and Continuing Professional Education (CPE), along with other conditions enacted by The IIA's Professional Certification Board (PCB).


The CRMA exam is a nondisclosed examination. Candidates in the program agree to keep the contents of the CRMA exam confidential and therefore may not discuss the specific exam content with anyone except The IIA's Global Certifications Department. Unauthorized disclosure of exam material will be considered a breach of the Code of Ethics and could result in disqualification of the candidate or other appropriate censure. For more information regarding exam security and confidentiality, please visit The IIA’s Exam Security webpage. If you have questions, comments, or concerns regarding exam security, misconduct, or the testing center, contact The IIA at

Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

Upon certification, CRMAs are required to maintain their knowledge and skills and stay abreast of improvements and current developments by satisfying CPE requirements according to the CPE Policy established by The IIA’s PCB.

IIA Membership

In most cases, you do not have to be a member of The IIA to take the CRMA exam or become a CRMA, but we encourage you to consider its advantages. There are some countries, however, that do require candidates to be IIA members to take the CRMA exam. Candidates in any of the countries listed on the "Are You in One of These Locations" map located to the right right should contact their local Affiliate to verify this requirements.

IIA members receive discounts on CRMA review materials and courses. View available study resources.

CIA and CRMA Test From Home 

CRMA Exam Update 

Access CCMS

Candidates from the following countries must refer to their local IIA Institute web-site or contact their local representative for more information about local certification processes:

The information contained on this website pertains to all other countries.