Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

New to Certification?

​Chart Your Course

Confused about which exam part to tackle first? The IIA offers the following tips:

Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®)

Start with Part I or II if:

Start with Part III if:

  • You have recently completed post-secondary coursework or another professional exam that has similar finance and information technology content, such as the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) or Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) exam. Not only do these two exams (as well as a few others) provide credit to waive out of Part IV of the Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) exam, but some of the topics are similar to the syllabus of Part III, although the CIA exam syllabus requires testing at an awareness level for many of these topics versus proficiency for other exams.

Specialty Exams

Consider a specialty exam if:

  • You have expertise in a specific field such as finance, government audit, or risk and control. The specialty exams provide the ability to waive out of Part IV of the CIA exam, will help you become familiar with the computer-based testing process, and are a great stepping stone for your career, leaving you the option to continue on with the other three parts of the CIA exam.

Candidates from the following countries must refer to their local IIA Institute web-site or contact their local representative for more information about local certification processes:

The information contained on this website pertains to all other countries.

Download the IIA Certification Brochure