Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Global Institute of Internal AuditorsBreadcrumb SeparatorNewsBreadcrumb SeparatorInternal Auditor Magazine Wins 8 Awards at Florida Media Conference

​Internal Auditor Magazine Wins 8 Awards at Florida Media Conference

Lake Mary, Fla. (Aug. 13, 2018) – The IIA’s Internal Auditor magazine staff turned in an exceptional performance at the 2018 Florida Media Conference, which was held Aug. 8-10 at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek resort. In addition to the eight awards received, Editor in Chief Anne Millage was elected 2018-19 Florida Magazine Association president.

The awards – bronze, silver and the top award, the Charlie – are presented at the annual joint conference of the Florida Magazine Association, Florida Press Association, Florida Society of News Editors, and Florida Newspaper and Marketing Executives.

Tim McCollum won a Charlie Award in the Best Feature, Trade/Technical category for his article in the December 2017 issue, “Audit in an Age of Intelligent Machines.” Other Charlies were awarded for:

  • Best Digital: Magazine Website, Trade/Technical:
  • Best Overall Design, Trade/Technical
  • Best Overall Writing, Trade/Technical
  • Best Overall Magazine, Trade/Technical

The magazine also won silver awards for:

  • Best Department, Trade/Technical: "Fraud Findings"
  • Best Design: Department, Trade/Technical: "Update"
  • Best Design: Cover, Trade/Technical: "Public Sector Auditing Under Siege"

Publishing professionals outside the state of Florida judged the more than 500 submissions to the overall competition.

“We’ve been a team for quite a while, and I am so proud to work with such an accomplished group of publishing professionals,” Millage said of staffers McCollum, Gretchen Gorfine, Dave Salierno, and Shannon Steffee.  “I’m equally proud, and honored, to be the next president of the Florida Magazine Association (FMA). I’m taking the helm at a time when the magazine industry is evolving, and I’m looking forward to helping determine how FMA can best serve all segments of the industry — from print to digital.”

The Charlie Awards are named in honor of Charles G. “Charlie” Wellborn Jr., a 1958 graduate of and later a professor in the College of Journalism and Communications at the University of Florida. Courses created by Wellborn served as the core of UF’s public relations and magazine curriculum for many years.